22nd Athletics Hall of Fame Inductees Honored

2023 Hall of Fame Inductees

Inductees were honored at the 22nd Bloomfield College Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony held January 28, 2023 in Westminster Hall on the College campus. Surrounded by more than 150 peers, friends, family and alumni, inductees included Gage Daye ’12, Olisa Small ’98 and the 2011 Men’s Basketball Team.

Rounding out the festivities, a double-header game of Bloomfield College women’s and men’s basketball vs. Holy Family University followed with cheering fans in the Bloomfield College gymnasium.

“We are thrilled to honor these impressive athletes,” said Sheila Wooten, Dean of Student Life and Director of Athletics. “It takes hard work and talent to make a successful athlete and team, and these 2023 Hall of Fame inductees represent the best of the best. We thank each inductee for their amazing contributions to Bloomfield College athletics.”

2023 Hall of Fame Inductees:

Gage Daye ’12, born and raised in Newark, New Jersey, received a full scholarship to play men’s basketball at Bloomfield College. As a four-year letterman under Coach Gerald Holmes, he is one of the most decorated athletes in school history. As the school’s All-Time Leading Scorer (2,518 points), the two-year captain earned First Team All-American Honors, East Region Player of the Year Honors, Two-Time All-Met Player of the Year Honors and Two-Time CACC Player of the Year Honors, to name a few. He went on to establish a professional basketball career with the Fort Wayne Mad Ants in the NBA Development League, and also traveled and played in Europe and Australia achieving multiple honors including Waratah State League MVP in 2015 and 2016.

Olisa Small ’98 was born in the Bronx and was raised in Maplewood, New Jersey. She started her basketball career in the 9th grade at Columbia High School in 1989. Small credits her high school basketball coach and mentor, Johanna Wright, with her picking up a basketball for the very first time. What she learned under Coach Wright in high school set the stage for Small to receive a full basketball and volleyball scholarship to play at Bloomfield College. She played both sports with distinction from 1994-1998, receiving many honors. In basketball, she was recognized for scoring over 1000 points and snagging more than 1000 rebounds. Small was team captain for the volleyball team from 1996-1998 while leading the team in blocks and aces.

The Bloomfield College 2011 Men’s Basketball Team finished the 2010-2011 campaign with a mark of 24-9, winning nine out of 10 games to close a historic season of Bloomfield College basketball:

  • 2010-2011 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Tournament Champions
  • First-ever advancement to the Sweet 16 in the East Region of the NCAA Tournament
  • Lowest seed to ever win the East Regional Tournament leading to first-ever appearance in the Elite Eight
  • First CACC basketball team ever to reach Division II basketball’s biggest stage

2010-2011 Players included Jon Bradley ’15, Gage Daye ’12 (Captain), Woody Eliezer ’13, Art Ellis, Andre Green ’14, Ahmad Harris ’16, Steve Henderson ’14, Conroy Hosier ’12, Ryan Rodrigues ’12, Kevin Udo ’14, Matt Wafula ’13, Mike Williams ’14 and Rob Young.

2010-2011 Coaches included Baron Hickson, Gerald Holmes (Head Coach), Ryan James, Malcom Lash and Wilson Pilarte ’12.

Photo: Bloomfield College celebrated two former student-athletes, Gage Daye ’12 and Olisa Small ’98, and all members and coaches of the 2011 Men's Basketball Team at its recent 22nd Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

© Bloomfield College 467 Franklin St. Bloomfield, NJ 07003 973-748-9000